Brussels Conversations 2013

For printing purposes, you will find the PDF here.

Please note this event is by invitation only.

Friday 13 December 2013


Welcome Reception at deBuren


The European House for Culture will open the programme with a welcome reception at deBuren (Leopoldstraat/rue Léopold 6, 1000 Brussels).


Optional Performances (only for those that reserved tickets)


·         19:00 Hamlet by Ambroise Thomas directed by Olivier Py at De Munt/La Monnaie

·         20:30 The Pyre by Gisèle Vienne at Kaaitheater

Saturday 14 December 2013


De Munt/La Monnaie (Place de la Monnaie, 1000 Brussels)


Registration and Welcome Coffee


Doors will open at De Munt/La Monnaie at 9:00. You can enter at the main entrance of the building, Place de la Monnaie 1000 Brussels.  Please follow the signage to the conference room on the 7th floor.

The front doors will close at 9:30.


Welcome Address


Welcome from Frans de Ruiter, President of the European House for Culture


Discussion of the Decisive Deal: A European Resolution on Culture for Values, Democracy and Citizenship


  • What concrete developments and changes would you propose for the political agenda of the EU relating to culture, values, democracy, and citizenship?
  • What questions would you ask the political candidates in the run up to the 2014 elections?

We will informally discuss these questions in a roundtable format. It will be the group’s responsibility to set any further agenda and to guide the conversations towards questions and conclusions.


Sandwich Lunch


Finalization of Concepts


The existing proposals and new ideas we have developed throughout the day will be narrowed down to a short list of the essentials that we will hand off to the Berlin Conference to reach an agreement with top politicians on their agenda in the European Parliament for the coming 5-year term.


Closing Remarks



The opening reception of the Brussels Conversations 2013 is hosted by de Buren.

The Brussels Conversations 2013 is hosted by our partner in the event De Munt/La Monnaie.